Configure client access for internal users
As you grow and add internal users to your team, it can be difficult to stay organized. For example, you may not want all internal users to have access to all clients. Or maybe you don’t want all internal users to be notified about all client activity.
With assignees, on the Clients page you can specify which internal users can see which clients, letting you stay organized, set clear permission rules, and minimize notification noise.
Assignee preferences impact all apps. For example, if John Doe is a client and you remove internal user Jennifer’s assignee status from John, this means that Jennifer will not be able to see John Doe or any of his information, including messages, files, contracts, etc. (depending on which apps are enabled).
A lead is the internal user primarily responsible for a client (often called the 'owner'). A lead is automatically set as an assignee as well.